top of page

propheticencounters

  • Writer's picture Maurice Paul Obonyo

When God Calls!

Updated: Jul 2, 2019

What My Former Ambitions Were


I was called by the Lord 8 years ago. I wondered why the Lord had given me gifts that were of the prophetic. At that time, I had set out to become a businessman. I always thought about owning a business as my way to freedom. I read books concerning people who had set up businesses and run them successfully. I also searched for books that were about famous entrepreneurs and read them. That was my biggest desire. When I failed, I went and asked the Lord for help and He spoke back to me! I was overcome with amazement that the Lord could speak back to me! If I were a businessman, I would have been doing the enemy’s will. If I was not a prophet, I would not be able to live for long. The Lord had cursed everything that I had set out to do outside His will. Are all businessmen cursed by the Lord? No, I was not supposed to be a businessman because it was not what the Lord willed for me. If there are people whom the Lord has destined to be businessmen, the Lord will bless them to become businessmen. I had a greater calling and the Lord did not want me to engage in any form of commercial activity. If you are asking: how can a businessman keep his business and serve God at the same time? The answer is that it is impossible! If you are a businessman and the Lord calls you, it means you have to stop doing that business. If you continue, you will only acquire curses from the Lord.


Moses and the burning bush
Moses was enticed by the burning bush which was not being consumed. It is the way God enticed him to draw closer to Him.

Wix domain hosting

What To Do After Accepting God's Call


When a person is called, that person has to start on a journey of acquiring gifts from the Spirit so that he can be able to do the Lord’s will. If he is distracted by activities that are not in the Lord’s will, he will not be able to stand firm in the Lord’s will. When a person is not in the Lord’s will, he is a target for the enemy to tempt. He is also prone to temptation and will find it difficult to become an overcomer. A person who is caught up in doing the enemy’s will cannot stand temptation. He may delay temptation but will eventually succumb to the enemy’s traps.

God will call a person who is not in His will

After the enemy has constantly tried to distract a person who has been called by God for His service, he will start losing interest in his endeavors and eventually give up. If you have been called, you will have to start resisting the enemy by confessing what God has called you to. If you have been called to be a prophet, constantly confess to yourself that God is the one who has called you to be so. If you have been called to be an apostle, don't doubt God. Believe what He has spoken about you and confess it.


How To Continue In God's Will


clowns and circus
It is not advisable for a person who God has called to places that are cursed like a circus

Windows Tab

If you are in a place where there are people who are not in God's will, you will be distracted by them when God calls. If you are in a place where there are unGodly people, you will have to leave that place and find a place where people are living in God's will. How will you know if you are in a place that is Godly? If the people in your environment are always concerned about the flesh, you will know that it is most probably a place the Lord will not want you to be. Some places may not have people who are not outrightly concerned about the flesh but are cursed to distract anything of God or anyone who is Godly. How are people who are outrightly concerned about the flesh able to distract people who have been called by God? They harbor cursed spirits in them that speak and discourage anyone who has God, especially a person who has found God's call upon his life.


Read Prophetic Encounters Newsletter


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page